Modesty

Lately the term “feminism” has been on my mind a lot. I observe women around me, thinking about what they do, what they say, what their values in life are. I’ve always admired strong, confident, successful  women who know what they want from life and aren’t too afraid to ask for or even demand it. I’m strong and somewhat confident. I know what my strengths and weaknesses are. But I try not to boast. I try to act the right way so that people don’t find me annoying, overwhelming, rude, un-ladylike. But I’m starting to wonder why. Why is it so important for me to act all modest and reserved? None of the women I admire and look up to are modest and reserved. They speak their minds until they are heard. And they don’t let themselves get shot down by people telling them to stick to the norms and “be normal”. But I try to. I was brought up that way. But I hate it when people don’t listen to me when I speak. Yet it keeps happening to me more and more. And none of the people I’ve complained to about this take it seriously. Why is that?

tumblr_n251xi2mGr1rtcur5o1_1280

source: whoneedsfeminism.tumblr.com/

It’s time society realized that women do have a voice. Parents need to tell their children that little girls do have a say in things and should speak their minds loud and clear without having to feel like they’re being annoying. It’s time for me to find my voice and use it to achieve my goals, establish boundaries and earn the respect of the people surrounding me.

One thought on “Modesty

Leave a Reply

